Review: Nature Republic Super Aqua Max Combination Watery Cream

Slide03

Slide01

Slide02

I bought this product in a fit of panic a few months ago when my faithful Simple moisturiser finally ran out, two months before my return to England. This was during the coldest months I had ever experienced, and indeed during the same shopping trip as the earlier-reviewed body butter; saviour of my flaky shins. I needed a face moisturiser and the sales assistant half explained, half charaded that this would be the most appropriate…she worked ever so hard and it was on sale for less than half price (around 10,000 won I think) so I went along with her advice despite not being 100% convinced. There was something about the word ‘watery’ in the title that make me suspicious.

I needn’t have been, about that part at least. I’m not sure I’d agree that this moisturiser is more or less watery than any other, it’s just a fairly light cream that spreads nicely and makes me skin feel suitably hydrated. The first time I put it on I thought it was the best thing since sliced bread, but after using it a few times I’ve been forced to admit that it’s a bit more ‘meh’ than I first assumed.

My first problem is, as usual, the container. I don’t mind a potted moisturiser if it’s purely intended as a night cream, because I’ve usually thoroughly washed and cleansed my face and hands before I touch it so it isn’t so bad. Plus, this product did come with a plastic spatula so hygiene concerns are reduced somewhat. The woman in the shop, however, made it  clear to me that this moisturiser could be used in the daytime too, under makeup or on it’s own…which means that I’d have to interrupt my (usually chronically rushed) morning routine wash my hands or the spatula before and after, which (I’m sure I needn’t tell you) is something of a pain in the arse.

My second gripe is also with the product being used in the daytime. The first time I used it I felt like my skin was super soft and silky and I thought that it would be a great primer for use under powder foundation. An hour or so later I scratched my face for some reason and noticed that the product hadn’t really sunk in or gone anywhere, and instead was just sitting on top of my skin waiting to be rubbed off. Perhaps this is just a personal choice but I really hate products that do this as I want my skin to feel moisturised in itself, I don’t just want the illusion of it. Once or twice I’ve used this moisturiser under makeup (with my Etude House primer on top) and whilst it works OK, I think that my skin gets much oilier throughout the day and the powder has a tendency to slide off more than it usually would.

On the plus side, I didn’t notice any blemishes or breakouts resulting from using it…but then I don’t get any from the Simple moisturiser either, which is cheaper and more adaptable than this one. Sorry Nature Republic, my shins and I are still ever so grateful for your lovely Nutritive Butter.

Verdict:

3/5

A reasonable product when on sale, but I wouldn’t consider it at full price. Best as a night cream and not particularly useful under makeup, despite what the sales people might tell you.

3 thoughts on “Review: Nature Republic Super Aqua Max Combination Watery Cream

  1. OMG~~ I should have read your blog before I buy it!!!! But I’d already bought it this morning :'(( . Actually, I don’t like it but still don’t hate it :P . I hate it coz it’s a little bit sticky and that hadn’t gone for some time but have to wait to apply BB Cream next~ I don’t know if it’s will work with powder or not cos I don’t use powder and still don’t know will it work with cream pact~ I’m still regret for buying this PLUS it’s expensive~!!!! It costs 17,500kyats (U$ 17.5).

    • Do you mean like a sealed plastic outer covering? I don’t think so, although it did come in a box and has a hygiene cover between the lid and the product. I hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

